Life

Why Do I Write?

writing

 

I write because I just do. It’s what I know. The urge to put pen to paper E is unavoidable. The idea of sharing my words with the world excites me; sharing my thoughts, feelings, loves and loathes. Expressing yourself using language personally chosen is like a form of artwork. Whether it be creative or factual, they are all still pieces that were once scribbled down in my notebook, translated from my head ready to share with the world. It’s so much easier to communicate via the power of words; vocally words come out without thought, care or emotion. Whereas the written word is thoughtfully structured with love, or hate. The paper can take it all.

I write because you can learn more about a person from reading their work just as you can learn more about yourself from reading your own work. And that’s what writing is, a way to discover yourself and who you are as a person; covering topics that you want to cover, developing ideas that you have thought of.

I write because words have the ability to surface emotion from others. People could read your work and be influenced to go and see the film you’ve reviewed or buy gig tickets to the band you’ve recommended. People could read your work and relate to you. People could read your work and feel motivated to write themselves. Words are powerful, they can change people. That’s why I write.

Leave a Reply

