Life

I DON’T WANT TO GO TO UNI…

Come on now, I’m not the only one who’s feeling like this. I’ve just finished my first year of Journalism at college and the time has come to actually start thinking about my future; surely I’m not the only teenager out of the thousands of us that doesn’t have a freaking idea what they want to do.

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

The answer to that question becomes ridiculously harder to answer as you get older, I asked my 9 year old sister the same question just last night and she’d managed to reel of 4 different jobs without a second thought.

“Hmm, a vet or a teacher, or maybe even a hairdresser, or a singer!”

When you’re younger you seem to have no limits, the sky is never too high, but now I feel trapped in this cage of judgement. I know that I definitely don’t want to go to uni, it’s just not for me. I’m not sure about you but I’d rather not get in £1000’s worth of debt and still not be guaranteed a secure job as a result. I’m also not much of a party goer, I know, I sound like such a kill joy;  I’m 17 and I struggle to finish a beer – PASS ME THE SPRITE!

But the look on people’s faces when I tell them I don’t plan on going is just pure disappointment. Like my dog had just eaten their freshly planted blue bells and spat them out on their doorstep. And any mention of a gap year just screams ‘quitter’, it’s like they’re just expecting my life to be one permanent gap year – wow that really doesn’t sound too bad. But seriously, maybe I just need some more time to really know what I want to do. I want to try and make it my own way as a journalist first, if it doesn’t work out then who knows? I could end up back where I started, still not wanting to go to uni or I could welcome the opportunity with open arms knowing that’s the only way I’m gonna do what I enjoy.

We’re only 17, why the god damn rush? 

3 thoughts on “I DON’T WANT TO GO TO UNI…

  1. In no particular order: go to uni; travel; get a job (or try at least); volunteer; build up your writing CV and contacts…. Ella: the world is yours. Have faith in yourself, you have SO much to give the world. Don’t see your choices as worries, see them all as opportunities. You don’t have to do it all at once – but do give it your all. There’s a Buddhist quote that is really good: “when a bonfire, burn well”. Whatever it is you are doing, do it to the best you can: don’t let your mind be elsewhere when you are doing it.

    And don’t worry. As I said in class, and keep saying (because I mean it) it you are brilliant – and that goes for the rest of you in the class.

  2. Good for you Ella but don’t ever feel you have to justify your decisions for anyone other than yourself. I’m sure a lot of teens will feel the same and will be glad you have shared this. You don’t need me to tell you that it is never too late to go back to studying after you have taken some time out, I left school at 16, worked in retail for 8 years, studied alongside working for 3 years, now working in care, also studying alongside my current job. And I wanted to be a lollypop lady, a police woman and a forensic scientist. I’m 25 and still don’t really know what I want to do but I know that I am really very happy with my life and that’s the what matters most. Don’t let people judge you on qualifications, I barely have any! At the end of the day it’s your family, friends and lifestyle you choose that makes you happy, not future prospects of earning lots of money. I’m in 1000’s of debt and I didn’t even go to Uni! That’s all from my car, and thinking credit cards are wonderful (when they are actually evil) Anyway wrapping up now, you should do what you want to do and with a mum as wise as yours, you won’t go far wrong!!

  3. Check out Caitlin Moran for inspiration. She didn’t go to secondary school but was home educated and made her way into journalism by having the balls to believe in her talent and blagged her way in. She is now a successful author and a columnist for the Times. University isn’t the be all and end all. Believing in yourself and your talent is. By the way Cheesewolf – who is going to pay for the University fees and travelling? Rich parents perhaps? Not everyone is so fortunate.

Leave a Reply

