Life

My First Love!

Image

Not many people can say this but I’ve fallen hard for my first love (again). Most people tend to let their first relationship fizzle out into nothing, barely remembering each other’s names. However, unlike others, my first love has been a huge part of my life, popping in and out when they so please, playing a part in my evolvment as a human being. I know you’re all wondering who is this mysterious being? But it’s not a who, it’s a what…Books.

You all weren’t expecting that were you? Books were my first love. Okay I might be lying, obviously that’s not true, the moment I entered this world and gazed into my mother’s proud gleaming eyes (cringe) I knew Mama Wells was my first love. However, as magical (and bloody) as that moment was, receiving my first books were just as special. So what if I can’t remember a word read from Beatrix Potter or Elmer the Elephant, I can just remember I enjoyed them; and now as my 17 year old self I can look back on my introduction to books and say they are the culprits for the passion for writing that is spilling out of me today.

I’ll admit, this part of me has been dormant for the last few months leaving my bookshelf abandoned. But a recent new find has let out the ever present obsessive fan girl that seems to make an appearance during teenage fantasy series: The Hunger Games, Twilight, The Wolves of Mercy Falls, The Raven Boys and now The Mortal Instruments.

Could it be the new Twilight? That is the question that many of us have been asking ourselves, it has many similarities yet Clare makes it unique in her own way. Her writing has attached me to her characters. That’s right I’ve developed actual feelings for these non-existent people, having me worrying for their non-existent lives. Clare has me in awe of her ability to pen enough emotion to take you away from your world and bring you in to hers. And as of yesterday people all over the world can also be brought into her world, in the wonder of film – The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones has been released today and I haven’t even finished the book yet! What am I doing sitting and writing this?! I need to get this book finished!

What are your opinions on The Mortal Instruments?

2 thoughts on “My First Love!

Leave a Reply

