Hot Right Now / Life / Music News

Back to School Playlist

As it’s back to school/college time for the most of us, after a long blissful however-many-weeks off it’s time for me to get back into the early mornings and interaction with humans. As most of my morning is spent commuting, my iPod is my best friend and with less than 24 hours to go time is running out. I haven’t even got my playlist sorted yet. HELP!

So I’m here to share with you the first few of my picks for my Back to School Playlist, you can thank me later…

The 1975 – Settle Down

With the unashamed indie pop quartet returning with their self titled debut album, it only seemed fitting that my favorite from the album is starred. With their iconic guitar heavy sound and solid drums teamed with Matt Healy’s unique vocals, you’re in feel-good heaven.

Click here for my The 1975 and The Concetines Gig Review 

Little Comets – One Night in October

After seeing the trio in 2012 on a whim, their album In Search of Elusive Little Comets (a mouth full I know) is still one of my favorites. It’s happy guitar riffs disguises it’s poignant lyrics. Who knew it was about a breaking relationship?

Click here for my Little Comets Gig Review 

AlunaGeorge – This is How We Do It

From their new album Body Music, this pretty awesome cover of Montell Jordan’s hit is just what your ears need in a morning. WARNING: in large doses unstoppable head swaying may occur.


Ellie Goulding – Burn

Come on, a Top 40 hit has to be in there somewhere, we’re all human. The new synth heavy track from Ellie features her usual unique angelic sounding vocals in this (unusual for Ellie) mainstream-pop sound.


Tom Odell – Hold Me

Tommy has been a must have on my iPod for what seems like forever now. Ever since I heard Another Love I knew that anything of his I would just love instantly and that hasn’t changed. Hold Me is a piano led track bursting with emotion, going from powerful vocals to almost acapella with nothing but Tom and the piano, the contrast is just beautiful.

Click thid for my review of Tom

 

One thought on “Back to School Playlist

  1. Awesome back to school playlist! Really like seeing Tom Odell on the list. I really like his song “Grow Old With Me.” Sappy and sweet is good sometimes. smarturl.it/TomOdellGrow

Leave a Reply

